Vserver : Storage > Volumes : Configuring volumes : Deleting Snapshot copies
Deleting Snapshot copies
You can delete a Snapshot copy to conserve space or free disk space, or you can delete the Snapshot copy if it is no longer required. If you want to delete a Snapshot copy that is busy or locked, then you have to release the Snapshot copy from the application that is using it.
About this task
•
You cannot delete the base Snapshot copy in a parent volume if a FlexClone volume is using that Snapshot copy.
The base Snapshot copy is the Snapshot copy that is used to create the FlexClone volume, and always displays the status "busy" and Application Dependency as "busy,vclone" in the parent volume.
•
You cannot delete locked a Snapshot copy that is used by a SnapMirror relationship.
The Snapshot copy is locked and is required for the next update.
For more information about deleting busy Snapshot copies, see the
Clustered Data ONTAP Data Protection Guide
.
Steps
1.
From the
Home
tab
, double-click the appropriate storage system.
2.
Expand the
Vservers
hierarchy in the left navigation pane.
3.
In the navigation pane,
select the Vserver, and click
Storage
>
Volumes or Infinite Volumes
.
4.
Select the appropriate volume that contains the Snapshot copy you want to delete.
5.
Click
Snapshot Copies
in the lower pane of the
Storage
>
Volumes or Infinite Volumes
.
6.
In the lower window pane, select the Snapshot copy that you want to delete.
7.
Click
Delete
.
8.
Select the confirmation check box and click
Delete
.
Related reference
Volumes window
Was this topic helpful? Send
comments
to NetApp.